Return to “Suggestions”

Ship Profiles, Angles, Curves and Symmetry

One of the things I have noticed in the videos is that the ships are getting longer and longer. One of the things that would work nicely is to have a rectangle or prism that the ship generator "wants" to use, have a certain sense of dimensions in the ships. Different factions or nations could have different ship profiles but the cigars are getting long and some with would fit in nicely.

You guys may have thought of this before but if not...

The rest of this is mostly self explanatory stuff, the use of angled pieces (triangles and slopes) and such in the design of ships and the direction of which they are pointing.
The curved pieces could be generated through some easy parameters like the type of curve (bowl ish or flat on some sides) and then the depth and such.
I'm no expert so I might be wrong and curves could be extremly hard.
Last edited by ravener96 on Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Ship Profiles, Angles, Curves and Symmetry

I hope ships will have a lot of variety and the potential to be quite unique and not just generic-unique. I'm sure they'll probably end up being the former, it'll be interesting to see what comes up.

Perhaps the generator could use an entirely different set of shapes and materials depending on the designated tech level of the generated faction/race. Lower tech would be more boxy and use primitive methods of propulsion, or centrifugal gravity rings for the decks as opposed to an advanced race that would prefer a sleeker, alien design. I'm a bit new around here so this is probably not a new idea.

Alex wrote: I'm a bit new around here so this is probably not a new idea.
actually i cant remember reading anything about what peoples preference in ship design was.
there was a forum for posting favorite ship concept art, and another on whether the ships should be flying rust-buckets or top of the line chromed out behemoths of destruction...