Return to “Suggestions”

Faction Funding

I was thinking recently about ways of raising starting capital for various projects in ways that avoid the complex debt mechanics that loans incur. I am not a financial expert, but have come up with a method I believe may allow for this, and would like some input from our more financially minded members who may be able to point out specifics as to how this could be better achieved or fatal flaws I am too ignorant to recognize.

I am assuming that most factions will have a form of membership fee to bring in capital to accomplish broad faction goals as well as pay for all the other benefits of faction membership, what I am proposing is that instead one one kind of membership fee, factions have two kinds of membership fee. In membership Type A, members pay a flat rate per month* and get back a fixed % of total faction profits over that same time. In membership Type B, members pay a % of their personal income to the faction, and receive a flat rate payment per month.

* Month here is an arbitrary unit of time, perhaps 100k or 1m seconds would be better

Initially these would be recurring expenses, as the amount members pay the faction will be on average, somewhat more than they receive. Each type of membership has pros and cons - if the faction does exceptionally well, Type A members receive more back, if poorly, they get less; if Type B members do poorly, than their membership fee is lower, if they do great, they pay more.