Return to “Dev Logs”

[Lindsey] Friday, October 27, 2017

Friday, October 27, 2017

Hi I'm Lindsey

Hello everybody!!! o/// For those of you who don't know, I'm Lindsey Reid, the newest edition to the LT team! Josh announced & explained me joining the team in his last devlog, so read about it there if you haven't already :) TL;DR: Josh and I met (& subsequently started dating) through the Baton Rouge indie dev scene, then I moved to California to work on a game for """the man""", then I moved back here to work with Josh on LT :) I have skills as both an artist and a programmer, so I'm focusing on writing procedural space ships and space stations. I'm starting with stations.

I've been here working on this for a few weeks already, so there's a lot to talk about. I'm also new to writing dev logs for the public eye, so do give me feedback on what you're interested in seeing (other than pictures, I know I know :V) and if I drawl on too long about code and algorithms. OR not long enough!

Soooo... I'm gonna follow Josh's example and first write a brief recap, and then delve into details on some of the fun stuff.

Also, the Imgur gallery is here. Some of it won't make sense without reading the post :V

Brief Recap

• Researched & drew very, very basic concept art for stations
  • Wrote foundations of Shape library for basic building blocks of procedural geometry, including:
    • Prism (with arbitrary # of sides to the 'base face' & radius, height)
    • Irregular Prism (same as above, but with unequal side length & radius for each side of the 'base face')
    • Ellipsoid (like spheres, but with arbitrary w, l, h)
    • Torus (with arbitrary functions for the inner and outer rings & radius of each)
    • Box (arbitrary w, l, h)
    • Scaffolding (arbitrary w, l, h)
  • Began foundations of Warp library for making those Shapes interesting
  • Wrote foundations of Joint system for combining Shapes along Joints
  • Wrote Piece object for storing combined Shapes