Return to “Games”

Kerbal Space Program

Anyone here play Kerbal Space Program? I picked it up a few weeks back and it's proven to be insanely addictive.

The basic premise is you.... run the space program for a bunch of cute little green aliens called Kerbals from a remarkably earthlike planet called Kerbin. However! Beneath that slightly fluffy exterior, is a rather challenging game, with Newtonian Physics, stranded astronauts (ho ho, Kerbalnauts!) freezing to death and explosions. Huge explosions.

Must admit, my knowledge of orbital mechanics has improved since I started playing it.... The population of Kerbin has declined though.
Re: Kerbal Space Program

I discovered it just before Christmas. So far I've managed to put a couple of satellites and most recently a manned flight in orbit (and even brought the latter safely back down!) Right now I'm working on getting something into orbit around the Mun, but getting a proper Hohmann transfer set up is turning out to be rather a challenge.

(It goes without saying that many Kerbals died to bring me just to this stage.)

I love KSP. Bought it way back when there was nothing but a handful of stock parts and the Mun (moon) to land on. Now there is a whole solar system, functionality for space stations and satellites, and ion drives for deep space exploration. That being said, I tend to spend most of my time building unwieldy, impossible spacecraft with all the aerodynamism of an elephant. They usually crash back to the surface of Kerbin (the homeworld) or hurtle off in some far, 700+ year orbit round the Sun. But it's all endless fun. For me ... not so much all the brave cosmonauts I have killed. ;)