Return to “Everything & Anything”

Before spaceships we need... rockets!

In another topic I mentioned that perhaps I would like to make my own space game. But before we can begin to fly we have to learn how to walk, and the first step before reaching the skies is to find out how to get up from the ground. I'm trying to reproduce the experiments of von Braun with rockets in the forties. I named the first prototype the V3, just the first in a series of rockets and missiles.

Take into account that this is something I made for fun. Yes, I know is a bit silly. And yes, I know is too simplistic. But whatever. It's just a first step. I have little experience with CryEngine, so I'm just figuring out how things work.

First, the concept:

The next step was to traslate the thing to the engine:

Then make it work. Until now, I'm not using fuel, but I want to create a full funtional system for the rocket, and that includes fuel, of course, and all components, like the warhead, the radio control gear, alcohol and liquid oxygen tanks, combustion chamber, etc, with different textures for every part.

And here we have a video of the V3 in flight:

As I say in the description, don't pay too much attention to the background and decoration. So far almost everything is just placeholder and is intended to be replaced eventually. The textures are very low resolution (1024x1024 pixels merely) and will also be replaced.

The video was made with the 3.5.7 edition of CryEngine, prior to the current version. The capture was made with FRAPS and video editing was made with Movie Maker. I'm not a video editor and had never edited a video before, so don't expect special effects. Just enough to get the job done. 8-)

So, today we start with rockets. But one day we are going to go to the Moon and beyond. More complex spaceships are in the way. :D

If you have a comment to make, please do so. I can take it. :mrgreen: